Bucket list item: Paint your own wall art

I’ve crossed something off of the bucket list, yay!

My very own birch tree wall art!
My very own birch tree wall art!

Now, I want everyone to know that I am not a professional visual artist by any means, and I still did this!  Just follow some simple directions, and this is what the results will look like!  This is a birch tree diy painting, and all you need is at least two colors of acrylic paint (you can make the background one solid color but I decided to do a gradient), masking tape, a canvas, some paint brushes, and an old credit card or gift card.

In the end, this painting wasn’t much cheaper than something you’d buy at Earthbound or Urban Outfitters… actually, maybe Urban Outfitters.  Depending on the size of the canvas and how much paint you buy, prices can vary.  However, there’s something to be said about making something yourself.  You have a sort of claim on it that no money can buy… yes, even if you just followed a tutorial on Pinterest.  Also, I found the painting to be very therapeutic.  It didn’t require much skill and I was able to make broad strokes across the canvas.

Since I got a five pack of canvases, which was $5 cheaper than just buying one, I will most likely be making more wall art.

You can follow the DIY Birch Tree Art tutorial here.

Have a safe and wonderful Fourth of July everyone!

Leave a Reply

